Connect with us

Bank News

Bank Hoops Class C All-State

Bank Hoops Class C Player of the Year Malik Ellison shoots around Bank Hoops Class C Defensive MVP Spider Johnson in this Free Press photo.

Class C Player of the Year

Malik Ellison  5-8  Sr  Flint Beecher: All he does is win. Ellison just led Flint Beecher to its third-straight state championship, David Kooling at the line for 32 points against Covenant Christian in the final and 28 on Detroit Edison in the semis. He averaged 26 points, 5.5 assists and four steals per game, including 63 against newly crowned Class B state champion New Haven.

Class C All-State

Trent Bell  6-7  Sr  Negaunee: No, not selected because of his last name. Bell averaged 19.7 points, 10.8 rebounds, 1.8 blocks and 2 steals per game for a regional championship team. He signed with Michigan Tech.

Jamal Cain  6-7  Sr  Detroit Cornerstone: The most highly regarded prospect in the senior class when projecting a college and possible pro career. The Mr. Basketball nominee averaged 24 points, 14 rebounds, 5 assists, 4 steals and 2 blocks per game. Signed with Marquette.

Caleb Hodgson  6-9  So  Dansville:  Future D1 recruit averaged 16.4 points, 11.8 rebounds, 3.7 blocks and 2.3 assists per game.

Blake Verbeek  6-10  Jr  Grandville Calvin Christian: He made his name in the 2016 state final, and improved as he became the marked man as an upperclassman. The D1 prospect averaged 17.1 points, 8.2 rebounds and 4.2 blocks per game.

Nick Welch  6-7  Sr  Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central: He led SMCC to a 20-0 regular season and a regional championship, averaging 20.6 points, 9.5 rebounds, 3.8 assists, 3.1 steals and 1.4 blocks per game. Welch signed with Northwood.

Class C Coach of the Year

Randy Windham, Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central: The Falcons continue to fly for Windham, whose teams won their seventh district crown in his seven years as coach. That was after a 20-0 regular season, before a regional championship. It helps to have an assembly line of all-state players, including his son Bryce Windham the 2015 Bank Hoops Class C Player of the Year, and most recently senior forward Nick Welch.

Class C Defensive MVP

Deante Johnson  6-8  Jr  Detroit Edison: That his nickname is Spider should tell you something about his game. Johnson has the wingspan to be a one-man trap 25 feet from the basket, with the versatility to then go and defend the rim like a center. Fit for a big man so played high energy deep into games despite running around so much. Blocked four shots in the state semifinals against Beecher.

Class C Second Team All-State

  • Carson Meulenberg  6-6  Jr  Grand Rapids Covenant Christian
  • Pierre Mitchell  5-11  Jr  Detroit Edison
  • Jayden Perry  5-7  Jr  Manton
  • Craig Sterk  6-7  Sr  McBain
  • Carson Wonders  6-4  Sr  Iron Mountain

Third team

  • Kylen Brown  5-8  Sr  Michigan Center
  • Blake Dunn  5-11  Sr  Saugatuck
  • Logan Eling  5-10  Sr  McBain
  • Ronald Hill  5-10  Jr  Detroit Pershing
  • Carter Johnston  6-3  Sr  Beaverton

Fourth team

  • Riley Fairfield  6-4  Sr  North Muskegon
  • Kaleb Keipert  6-7  Sr  Roscommon
  • Benji Kuiper  6-0  Sr  Grand Rapids Covenant Christian
  • Gary Solomon  6-4  Jr  Detroit Edison
  • Jack Staley  6-5  Sr  Breckenridge
Fifth team
  • Dre Tuominen  6-0  Sr  Negaunee
  • Raheem Riley  6-4  Sr  Burton Bendle
  • Xander Okerlund  6-3  So  Maple City Glen Lake
  • Zach Trent  6-2  So  Burton Bentley
  • Dewayn Allen  6-0  Sr  Flint Hamady
 Sixth team
  • Jordan Roland  6-1  Sr  Flint Beecher
  • Hunter Gallagher  6-4  Sr  Sand Creek
  • Davion Bradford  6-1  Sr  Detroit Cornerstone
  • Antoine Jones  6-1  Sr  Muskegon Heights
  • Anthony Brown  6-1  Sr  Riverview Gabriel Richard
Seventh team
  • Kaleb Barrett  6-3  Sr  Carson City-Crystal
  • Connor Ortman  6-4  Jr  Norway
  • Kane McPherson  6-1  Sr  Boyne City
  • Cogan McCoy  6-1  Sr  Delton-Kellogg
  • Levane Blake  6-8  Sr  Flint Beecher
Eighth team
  • D’Juan Seal  6-4  Jr  Detroit Pershing
  • Deante Johnson  6-8  Jr  Detroit Edison
  • Harry Gilstrap  6-2  Jr  Bath
  • Victor McEwen  6-3  Sr  Burton Atherton
  • CJ Haut  6-8  Jr  Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central
Ninth team
  • Anthony Jones  6-1  Sr  Muskegon Heights
  • Connor Pelham  6-3  Sr  Michigan Center
  • Jamal Keese  6-2  Sr  Detriot Edison
  • Patrick Hatcher  6-1  Sr  Detroit Pershing
  • Zaquarius Jeffries  6-4  Sr  Bloomingdale
10th team
  • Hart Holmgren   6-5  Jr  Ishpeming
  • Jimmy Lehman  6-3  Jr  Pewamo-Westphalia
  • Tyler Hunt  6-2  Sr  Gobles
  • Hunter Ruell  5-8  Jr  Manton
  • Jordan Davis  6-3  Sr  Warren Michigan Collegiate

11th team

  • Hunter Slaughter  5-9  Sr  Niles Brandywine
  • Dan Cluster  6-9  Jr  Watervliet
  • Alex Visser  5-10  Sr  Kalamazoo Christian
  • Barret George  6-4  Sr  Marlette
  • Matt Mignault  6-6  Sr  New Lothrop

12th team

  • Jared Sloop  6-0  Sr  Adrian Madison
  • Elijah Smith  6-5  Sr  Melvindale AB&T
  • Parker Randall  6-0  Sr  Sand Creek
  • Nick Bryant  6-0  Sr  Detroit Loyola
  • Kyle Stockmeyer  6-3  Jr  Reese

13th team

  • Caleb Eustice  5-10  Sr  Schoolcraft
  • Mason Gardner  6-3  Jr  Boyne City
  • Austin McKenzie  5-10  Sr  Michigan Center
  • Logan Hengesbach  6-1  Sr  Pewamo-Westphalia
  • Teddy Oosterbaan  6-6  Sr  Kalamazoo Hackett

14th Team

  • Thomas Eitniear  5-10  Jr  Ottawa Lakes Whiteford
  • Cade Peterson  6-5  Jr  Maple City Glen Lake
  • Grayson Krakow  5-11  Jr  Elk Rapids
  • Keith Johnson  6-2  Jr  Detroit Loyola
  • Nathan Karney  5-11  Sr  Quincy

15th Team

  • Ian Clancy  6-1  Jr  Inland Lakes
  • Jordan Katje  6-4  Jr  Kalamazoo Christian
  • Teague Tiemeyer  6-6  Jr  Saugatuck
  • Reed Weidenhofer  6-5  Sr  Gwinn
  • John Paramski  6-5  Sr  Newberry

Class C Underclassman All-State

  • Hunter Adams  6-4  Fr  Bridgman
  • William Dunn  6-6  Fr  Quincy
  • Myron Gardner  6-5  So  Detroit Loyola
  • TJ McKenzie  6-1  So  North Muskegon
  • Jalen Terry  5-11  Fr  Flint Beecher

Second team

  • Isaiah Jackson  6-6  Fr  Rochester Lutheran Northwest
  • Marcus Johnson  5-8  Fr  Iron Mountain
  • Danny Passinault  5-9  So  Traverse City St. Francis
  • Earnest Sanders  6-2  Fr  Flint Beecher
  • Jason Waterman  5-10  Fr  Negaunee

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments


More in Bank News