Connect with us

Bank News

Bank Hoops Class B All-State

River Rouge senior point guard Darian Owens-White is forging his name into the history of one of the state’s most storied programs.

Class B Player of the Year

Darian Owens-White  6-1  Sr  River Rouge: We’ve been watching Owens-White since he was an incoming freshman at the Bank Hoops Underclassman All-State Camp. Even then, while he didn’t have the physique, his court sense and basketball IQ were well beyond his years. Now as a senior, and playing for his dad Mark White at River Rouge, it’s all come together. He’s led the Panthers to the state semifinals, including the game-winning three-pointer against Williamston in the quarterfinals. Owens-White averages 23.5 points, 8 rebounds and 3 steals per game.

Class B All-State

Avery Hudson  5-9  Sr  Wayland: Averaged 24.5 points, 7 rebounds, 6 assists and 4 steals per game. He’s Wayland’s all-time leading scorer and set the school’s single-game record with 53 points. Signed with Davenport.

Lamar Norman   6-2  Jr  Wyoming Godwin Heights: He became a statewide name as a freshman in the 2015 state final and hasn’t looked back. Norman, who has a number of mid-major offers, averaged 21.2 points, 4.3 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 3.3 steals per game.

Romeo Weems  6-6  So  New Haven: Already with MSU and Ohio State offers as a freshman, he led New Haven with one loss into the state semifinals. Weems averages 18.6 points, 12.3 rebounds, 4.1 assists, 4.2 steals and 3.5 blocks per game.

Mario Whitley  6-4  Jr  Frankenmuth: He has mid-major offers and the game to back it up. Whitley averaged 25 points, 14 rebounds, 3 assists, 3 steals, 3 assists and 1.5 blocks per game.

Trevion Williams  6-8  Jr  Detroit Henry Ford Academy:  One of the state’s unique players with his passing ability at 6-8, 250. He averaged 22 points and 25 rebounds a game, the latter leading the state. Williams has offers from Michigan State and Xavier.

Class B Coach of the Year

Tom Lewis, Williamston: He’s still Williamston’s interim coach, while Jason Bauer contends with a brain tumor. Last season Lewis filled in and the Hornets reached the state final. This year they revamped after Lewis’ son, Riley, Williamston’s leading scorer, graduated, and went 21-5 including a regional title.

Class B Defensive MVP

Troy Summers  6-8  Sr  Grayling: While not the stereotypical long, lithe shot-blocker on the back row, Summers was the definition of “one shot and out” for Grayling’s defense, consuming 16.2 rebounds per game and becoming the school’s career leader in that category. He also averaged 2 blocks and 1.5 steals per game. He signed with Northern Michigan.

Class B Comeback Player of the Year

Calvin Hackert  6-1  Sr  Ludington: In this case, he literally came back. Hackert grew up in Ludington, until his family moved to Kentucky when he was beginning high school. He played his junior season for Meade County, KY after an aborted transfer attempt back to Ludington. But once 18, he was able to come back on his own and be eligible as a senior and has helped the Orioles reach the state semifinals.

Class B Second team

  • Sy Barnett  6-3  Sr  Williamston
  • Drequan Bell  6-3  Sr  River Rouge
  • Zack Nieuwkoop  6-8  Sr  Wayland
  • Mark Watts  6-2  So  Detroit Old Redford Academy
  • Eric Williams  6-5  Sr  New Haven

Third team

  • Reece Castor  6-4  So  Gladstone
  • Zach Goodline  5-11  So  Coloma
  • Carlos Johnson  6-6  Fr  Benton Harbor
  • Jalen Miller  6-3  Sr  Lake Fenton
  • Christian Rodriguez  5-10  Sr  Wyoming Godwin Heights

Fourth team

  • Quinn Blair  6-6  Jr  Dearborn Divine Child
  • Carl Bow  6-2  Jr  Hazel Park
  • Bryce Drews  6-3  Jr  Hillsdale
  • Charles Garrett  6-3  Jr  Bridgeport
  • Demetri Martin  6-4  Sr  Big Rapids

Fifth team

  • Markese Hastings  6-6  Jr  Wyoming Godwin Heights
  • Kenneth Holloway  6-4  Sr  Detroit Osborn
  • Jacob Polakovich  6-8  Jr  Grand Rapids Catholic Central
  • Tae Smith  5-9  Sr  Lansing Sexton
  • Troy Summers  6-8  Sr  Grayling

Sixth team

  • Cameryn Carpenter  5-10  Jr  Flint Powers
  • Nick Dekkenga  5-10  Sr  Coopersville
  • Thomas Griggs  5-10  Jr  Wyoming Kelloggsville
  • Cole Kleiver  5-11  Jr  Williamston
  • Darious Young  6-4  Sr  Flint Northwestern

Seventh team

  • Tariq Derrickson  6-1  Sr  Pontiac Notre Dame
  • Armonee Felder  5-10  Sr  Detroit Osborn
  • Tyrese Gardner  6-4  Sr  Comstock
  • Wendell Green  5-10  Fr  Detroit Country Day
  • Calvin Hackert  6-1  Sr  Ludington

Eighth team

  • Kylan Shipp  5-9  Sr  Detroit Northwestern
  • Deondre Lovell  6-4  Sr  Vicksburg
  • Jorden Peterson  6-2  Sr  Detroit CMA
  • Chuck Plaehn  6-3  Sr  Lansing Catholic Central
  • Nate Umlor  6-5  Sr  Allendale

Ninth team

  • Luke Toliver  6-1  Jr  Paw Paw
  • Luke Morrell  6-2  Jr  Plainwell
  • Kelly Broadus  5-7  Sr  Detroit Douglass
  • Roy Anderson  6-0  Sr  Benton Harbor
  • Ben Davidson  6-3  Jr  St. Clair

10th team

  • Tim Hauxwell  6-7  Jr  Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook
  • Logan Guenther  6-3  Sr  Cheboygan
  • Hunter Greer  6-0  Sr  Allendale
  • Carson Vincent  6-4  Jr  Ovid-Elsie
  • Kyle Peterson  6-3  Sr  Charlotte

11th team

  • Deonte Ulmer  6-2  Jr  Detroit Henry Ford
  • Alex Ismail  6-10  Sr  Dearborn Heights Annapolis
  • Sam Johnson  6-8  Jr  Spring Lake
  • Skyler Lipinski  6-6  Sr  Onsted
  • Sam LaDuke  6-4  Sr  Ludington

12th team

  • Davontaye Webb  6-2  Sr  Detroit Henry Ford
  • Brandon Paul  6-8  Jr  Sault Ste. Marie
  • David Hearns  6-1  Jr  Hazel Park
  • Marcus Bingham  6-10  Jr  Grand Rapids Catholic Central
  • Tirrell Hausmanis  6-3  Jr  Three Rivers

13th team

  • Goliath Mitchell  6-1  Jr  Goodrich
  • Austin Steenwyk  6-1  Sr  Hudsonville Unity Christian
  • Drew Bakos  6-4  Sr  Freeland
  • Lucas Schumm  5-10  Sr  Whitehall
  • Ethan Bernard  6-4  Sr  Hillsdale

14th team

  • Delbert Redfield  5-11  Sr  Olivet
  • Travis Smith  6-3  Jr  Clare
  • Trevor Ballard  6-1  Jr  Milan
  • Levi Lehman  6-7  Sr  Ithaca
  • Grant Bonner  6-4  Sr  Frankenmuth

15th team

  • Delonte Peterson  6-5  Sr  River Rouge
  • Merritt Hamann  6-7  Sr  Montague
  • Dan Judd  6-5  Sr  Fowlerville
  • Nathan Schaar  6-3  Sr  Kingsley
  • Austin Proctor  6-1  Sr  Central Montcalm

Class B Underclassman All-State

  • Derrick Bryant  5-7  So  Detroit University Prep
  • Sean Cobb  6-6  So  Williamston
  • Kevin David-Rice  6-3  Fr  Goodrich
  • Dayton Keller  6-4  So  Jackson Lumen Christi
  • Steve Pearson  6-2  Fr  Detroit Northwestern

Second team

  • Mason Bakker  6-5  So  Zeeland West
  • Lantz Barton  6-1  So  Center Line
  • Bobby Brandsen  6-2  So  Portland
  • Elijah Bell  5-9  So  Detroit Voyageur
  • Latrell Fordham  6-3  Fr  Goodrich

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments


More in Bank News